Wednesday, 18 October 2017

Chronoyster - missing details

I've recently bought the map/book "The London Underground - A Diagrammatic History" by Douglas Rose (highly recommended if you like that sort of thing), which has revealed to me that my Chronoyster posts up to now have been lacking a bit of detail. Such as stations' former names and the fact that when they opened some stations were in a different location. There is also one branch opening that I've missed altogether because all the stations involved are now closed. Below, I've summarised the history so far, with all the extra details added.

10 January 1863 - section of Circle / Hammersmith & City between Paddington and Farringdon opened - Paddington (Bishop's Road) [now Paddington]; Edgware Road; Baker Street; Portland Road [now Great Portland Street]; Gower Street [now Euston Square]; King's Cross [now King's Cross St. Pancras, east of current location]; Farringdon Street [not same location as current Farringdon] (Open stations: 7)

13 June 1864 - section of Circle / Hammersmith & City between Paddington and Hammersmith opened - Notting Hill [now Ladbroke Grove]; Shepherd's Bush [now Shepherd's Bush Market, north of current location]; Hammersmith [north of current location] (Open stations: 10)

1 July 1864 - section between Ladbroke Grove and Kensington Olympia opened - Kensington [now Kensington Olympia] (Open stations: 11)

23 December 1865 - section of Circle / Hammersmith & City / Metropolitan between Farringdon and Moorgate opened, Farringdon relocated to current location - Aldersgate Street [now Barbican]; Moorgate Street [now Moorgate] (Open stations: 13)

1 February 1866 - new station opened- Westbourne Park [west of current location] (Open stations: 14)

13 April 1868 - section of Metropolitan from Baker Street towards Finchley Road opened, no stations remain open - St. John's Wood Road [later Lord's]; Marlborough Road; Swiss Cottage (Open stations: 17)

1 October 1868 - Kensington [now Kensington Olympia] renamed Kensington (Addison Road)
1 October 1868 - section of Circle between Edgware Road and Gloucester Road opened - Paddington (Praed Street) [now Paddington]; Bayswater; Notting Hill Gate; High Street Kensington; Brompton (Gloucester Road) [now Gloucester Road] (Open stations: 22)

1 December 1868 - Line extended south as Hammersmith relocated to current location

16 December 1868 - new station opened - Latimer Road (Open stations: 23)

24 December 1868 - section of Circle / District between Gloucester Road and Westminster opened - South Kensington; Sloane Square; Victoria; St. James's Park; Westminster Bridge [now Westminster] (Open stations: 28)

No comments:

Post a Comment